Since 1946, students across our region have participated in Youth in Government (YIG), an immersive four days that includes focused discussions on current issues, a wide variety of social events, engaging evening activities, time for small-group reflection, and hands-on leadership development.

The program starts in late fall when students in grades 8-12 join or form a YIG delegation which will hold meetings for their group leading up to the conference. High School students will choose to serve as legislators, judges, attorneys, lobbyists, media representatives, or cabinet members. Eighth-grade students start by participating as a member of the Leadership Corps where they will get to experience all areas of the program to allow them a chance to choose how to continue their YIG journey in high school.

At the end of October, delegates from all over the state come together for our in-person LAUNCH event to help prepare for the four-day conference in early January. On January 4th, delegations from all over the state of Minnesota and Western Wisconsin will come together between the Hilton Hotel in Minneapolis and the Minnesota State Capitol to engage in the 70th Minnesota Youth in Government session!


  • Focus on state and local issues
  • Meet students with similar interests from across the state
  • Choose from many program area options
  • Practice leadership skills in this entirely student-led state government 


Minnesota students in grades 8-12

How can you participate?

Delegates indicate their top three program areas choices that align with their grade and will be assigned to one of them depending on space, delegation spread, registration date, etc.. Program areas include:



ALL 8th grade students participate in Leadership Corps. Explore all YIG program areas by creating & debating bills, arguing a court case, and writing media articles.


9-12th GRADE

Prepare a bill on an issue that is important to you, participate in committee hearings and floor debates, and vote on which bills should become law.


9-12th GRADE

Research assigned cases and present arguments in a mock trial or appeals case. Judges preside at trial and make decisions regarding legal arguments and objections.


10-12th GRADE

Research, present and debate a policy solution to a current national or international issue chosen by the student.


10-12th GRADE

Advocate for legislation on behalf of special interest groups.


10-12th GRADE

Research and write articles for a daily newspaper, news releases, and broadcasts using both print and digital formats.


2024 Youth in Government Dates


Thursday, January 4 – Sunday, January 7, 2024

Located at the Minneapolis Hilton Hotel & Minnesota State Capitol

LAUNCH Training Event:

Saturday, October 28th

Location: Fridley High School

Time: 10:00am - 3:00pm

**Delegates should plan to arrive to Fridley High School between 9:15 - 9:50am to check in. Check in is done by Delegation.


EARLY BIRD program registration (before Oct. 17) is $479.

After Oct. 17, program registration increases to $499. Delegations may choose to add additional fees. Ask your delegation director for total program costs as well as how to apply for financial assistance.